BROKEN AFGHAN

Gorilla warfare
2 min readAug 21, 2021

Seeing your homeland come undone is a pain of the worst kinds

My country, my Afghanistan, my people are hurting, they are hurting bad, and there is nothing I can do. Though I am grateful for my life, I haven’t had a life full of just sunshine and roses. But this, this is the single most painful event of my life. All the dreams I hoped and worked to achieve for my country are now like sand that I know has fallen right through my palms.

I am not much of a writer but I don’t know what else to do. How can I tell anyone just how broken I, and I am sure millions of Afghans feel? It’s like you are burning but you don’t even try to run away from the fire because the fire is everywhere. So you just sit waiting for it to eventually end you. Is this it it? Is this it for the millions of innocent Afghan dreams? Is this how the world does away with us?

I always believed in “if there is a will, there’s a way” but I am not sure if I do anymore. The one thing I want most in this whole world is for the suffering to stop. But just as it looks like it might, you are slapped in the face with another wave of hopelessness. I don’t know what I could say or what I could do to help.

After years of running

To find a place called home

I no longer know

If there is one out there for me

After years of believing

That everything will be fine

It’s become so so hard

To hold on to that hope

After years of trying

I thought we’d grown

But then I doubt it

After falling all the same

https://youtu.be/ZdQP8-gHjxg

--

--

Gorilla warfare

An aspiring millionaire with a bare minimum job and a bare minimum pay who just so happens to speak 6 languages.